top of page
Funkadelic The Electric Spanking Of War Babies Vinyl Album

Funkadelic The Electric Spanking Of War Babies Vinyl Album

Release Date:  10 February 2023

Label:  BFD

Packaging Type:  Gate Fold Vinyl

No of Units:  1

Barcode:  5060767443149


THE ELECTRIC SPANKING OF WAR BABIES CD - 1-CD Digi-Sleeve: CHARLY CHCD3482 (5060767443156) LP - 1-LP Black 180-gram vinyl: CHARLY CHLP3482 (5060767443149) LP - 1-LP GREEN Fluorescent 180-gram vinyl: CHARLY CHLP3482C (5060767444078) EXCLUSIVE LIMITED EDITION - 2,000 colored vinyl LPs only! - 1-LP on fluorescent GREEN vinyl - Deluxe facsimile edition of original 1981 LP in gatefold sleeve - Pedro Bell's original album artwork fully restored + lyric inner sleeve - Illustrated booklet with in-depth sleeve notes by author & music journalist John Masouri - Each LP housed in a protective PVC sleeve + 1970s-style obi-strip - Mastered for vinyl by Pete Reynolds with lacquers cut by Barry Grint at Air Studios in London. DESCRIPTION Released in 1981& the last in a decade-long run of Top 50 R&B albums, 'The Electric Spanking Of War Babies' was the band's twelfth studio LP & featured several players new to the Funkadelic line-up, notably Sly Stone. With its allusions to the Vietnam War & US imperialism, George Clinton's project was destined to court controversy from the start, not least for its uncompromising sleeve art which original label Warner Bros. censored. Described by Robert Christgau as "the solidest, weirdest chunk of P-Funk since one nation gathered under a groove" & originally conceived as a double LP, many tracks saw release on Clinton's later P-Funk projects. Arguably, it is better for having been pr?cised down to a single album while still spawning two hit singles, the title track (US R&B No. 60) & 'Shockwaves' (US R&B No.53). FUNKADELIC Masterminded by the larger-than-life figure of George Clinton, Funkadelic was a key component of his influential P-Funk empire. Funkadelic's unique combination of Rock, Psychedelia, R&B & Soul led to the band crossing over to the pop mainstream & gaining a vast international following, becoming one of the most important & influential groups in music. On 6 May 1997, Parliament / Funkadelic were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame by Prince. To commemorate six decades of thrilling & delighting fans, George Clinton returned to the stage in 2022 for a series of concerts. To celebrate, Charly have reissued Funkadelic's classic four albums 'Hardcore Jollies'; 'One Nation Under A Groove'; 'Uncle Jam Wants You'; & 'The Electric Spanking Of War Babies' (originally released by Warner Bros during a golden period for the band between 1976-1981). Each album will be available as deluxe gatefold Digi-Sleeve CDs in PVC wallets + obi-strip & facsimile-edition gatefold LPs on 180-gram black vinyl & limited edition 180-gram colored vinyl + 1970s-style obi-strip in a protective PVC sleeve. "They played a HUGE role in creating the future of music." PRINCE




Funkadelic The Electric Spanking Of War Babies Vinyl Album


      • 5. Icka Prick
      • 4. Oh
      • 3. I
      • 2. Shockwaves
      • 1. Funk Gets Stronger (Killer Millimeter Longer Version) / She Loves You
      • 3. Brettino’s Bounce
      • 2. Funk Gets Stronger
      • 1. Pt. 1
      • . Electro-Cuties
bottom of page